You are here

Board of Directors

Tan Sri Dato' Sri Abi Musa Asa'ari Bin Mohamed Nor

Appointed to the Board as Non-Executive Chairman in March 2013

Extensive years of experience and broad knowledge in the finance and petroleum sectors within the Malaysian civil service. Abi Musa has served with the Public Service Department, and as Deputy Director of the Petroleum Development Division under the Malaysian Prime Minister’s Department. He brings strong financial knowledge from his experience as the Deputy Director in the Budget division of the Finance Ministry. He served as the Director General of the Federal Agriculture Marketing Authority and Secretary General of the Agriculture and Small Industries before retiring in September 2006. He holds an MBA from the University of Birmingham and a Bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Malaya.

He is the Non-Executive Chairman of the Malaysian Pilgrimage Funds Board, Non-executive Chairman of Pelikan International, Independent Non-Executive Director of HeiTech Padu Berhad, Chairman of the Malaysian Biodiesel Association and the Sultan Idris Education University. He was also the former Non-Executive Chairman of the Malaysian Pilgrimage Funds Board.


Dato' Jespal Singh Deol Balbir Singh

Appointed as Chief Executive Officer on March 2013.

Jespal is a co-founder of Platinum NanoChem Group and was appointed as the Managing Director of Platinum NanoChem in 2007. He co-founded Stevian Biotechnology, a company involved in the production of a natural based sweetener from stevia, which was admitted to trading on AIM as Pure Circle Limited in December 2007 with a market capitalisation of £384 million. He was also the Executive Director of Corporate and Business Development and instrumental in securing its development funding and closing global sales with multinational customers. He specialised in corporate mergers and acquisitions during his time with his firm Deol & Gill. Jespal holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Queensland, Australia.

He is the Independent non-executive director and chairman of the Audit Committee of IMU Education Sdn Bhd, which operates the International Medical University of Kuala Lumpur and is part of IHH Healthcare Berhad.

Dato' Larry Gan Nyap Liou @ Gan Nyap Liow

Appointed to the Board as Non-Executive Director on March 2013

Close to three decades of leadership roles in strategic management, investments, innovation and technology. Gan, who was previously with Accenture, consulted on projects with multinational companies and worked with global innovative technologies. As Accenture’s managing partner for Asia from 1999 to 2003, he managed a multibillion dollar Venture Fund in Asia Pacific, closing investments in China, Japan, Australia and Singapore. His in-depth technological experience is reflected in his appointments as Chairman of the Association of Computer Industry Malaysia (PIKOM), Vice-President of the Association of Asian Oceania Computer Industry Organisation, Member of the Minister of Science and Technology Think Tank, Copyright Tribunal, Labuan International Financial Exchange Committee, MIMOS Berhad (Government Technology Research) and the Malaysia US Business Council. Larry is a chartered accountant and a certified management consultant.

He is the CEO/Managing Director of Omesti Berhad, Non-Executive Director of Cuscapi Berhad, a Board Member of Rev Asia Berhad (Chairman), Tanjong Public Limited Plc, Saujana Resort (M) Berhad, Tropicana Corporation Berhad, 8Common Ltd (Australia) and Fatfish Internet Group Ltd (Australia, Chairman). He is associated with the Minority Shareholder Watchdog Group (Director), British Malaysian Chamber of Commerce (Chairman) and JC Jacobsen Foundation (Trustee).

Sushil Singh Sidhu Joginder Singh

Appointed as Finance Director on March 2013

Extensive and rich international experience in corporate finance, equity capital markets and venture capital management. As a co-founder of Platinum NanoChem Group, he has served as the executive director of finance to the firm since January 2007. As former Finance Director of Stevian Biotechnology, Sushil and the team grew the company from its start-up position and raised its development funding. He has wide and in-depth financial experience, having served as the Chief Operating Officer of Commerce- Meridian Capital Sdn Bhd, a joint venture management company with the CIMB Group, Southern Bank Securities, Jardine Matheson and Nikkei Pacific Corporate Advisory Sdn. Bhd. Sushil holds an MBA (majoring in Finance) from the University of Hull and a Bachelor’s degree in Business (majoring in Finance) from Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia.

He is a Senior Associate of the Institute of Credit Management, Australia and an Associate of the Institute of Bankers, Australia.

Dr. Patrick Dennis Howes

Appointed to the Board as Non-Executive Director on August 2007

Howes brings over 25 years of experience in energy related chemical industries, with strong skills in incorporating new technologies into the designs of chemical plants and the execution and management of projects from inception to completion. He holds a Ph.D. in Chemistry (1981) from Salford University in the synthesis and properties of zeolite molecular sieves, a class of nanomaterials utilised in the oil and gas industries.

Committee membership:
Remuneration Committee and Audit Committee